August 6th State of Play Will Not Announce PS5 Release Date but Maybe Price?

Posted on Aug 3 2020 - 8:01pm by Ben Brown

This State of Play will only be for third party titles and will run for over 40 minutes. Expect to see new gameplay footage and game updates.

BUT, there won’t be anything on the release date for the upcoming PS5. The PS Blog stated the following:

There won’t be any updates around hardware, business, preorders, or dates either. On Thursday, our focus is squarely on showcasing some cool upcoming games coming to the broader PlayStation ecosystem. Should be fun!

PlayStation Blog – Sid Shuman

Nothing about hardware, business, preorders or dates. But no mention of price? It would be safe to assume that “business” likely means price. But odd that it wasn’t specifically mentioned when everything else was.

It could be an oversight, but regardless, the third party showcase will still be worth a watch.

The new State of Play episode airs Thursday, August 6 at 1:00pm Pacific Time / 4:00pm Eastern Time / 9:00pm BST, and you can watch it live on Twitch and YouTube.